home…two of fifty-two

There’s something about coming home for the holidays that’s always so comforting.  Having my own apartment is nice and all, but I always love coming home to the place where I grew up.  Besides, its the holidays, so there’s nothing better than spending some good time with the family.  I’ve only been home for a few hours, and tomorrow morning I’m turning around and going up to my girlfriends house, so I guess the real holiday with the family doesn’t start until Monday when I get back.  I’m really looking forward to it.  There has been no snow downtown, so when I came out here it was quite the surprise.  Snow really makes the holiday season, in my opinion, so finally getting some snow really got me in the mood for Christmas.

Another thing that I particularly like about Christmas is the music.  I love playing the piano, but it’s been so long since I’ve played.  I wanted to bring my Steinway downtown with me, but it wouldn’t really fit in my apartment ):  So I have 6 days to get up to speed with my Christmas music.  My favorites are from the Charlie Brown Christmas.  I like the music of Vince Guaraldi and his jazz trio.  I really wish I was better at improv jazz, but I never really got to that level.  I can sorta sight read, so it shouldn’t be too bad just jumping back in, but I guess time will tell.  I think I’m gonna go try that now, so I’m going to wrap it up.

I took this picture outside tonight, I thought the icicles looked really neat, so that’s my picture for the week.

1/50s exposure, f2.0, 50mm, ISO400, SOOC (straight out of camera)

Leave a Reply

