finals week…eleven of fifty-two

Well, here we are. Ten weeks of school down, just one remains.  Normally I’d be excited, but it’s the most stressful week of the quarter, so there’s not much to be excited about.  I’m really feeling good about my final tomorrow, but it only gets harder from there.  Tomorrow is Illumination and Communication Systems; Tuesday is Advanced Structural Analysis; Wednesday is Structural Steel and Concrete Design, and Linear Algebra; and finally, on Thursday is Plumbing and Fire Protection Systems Design.  Should be a busy week, I’ll let you know how things go….

So this weekend, I took a break from studying to do something that I’ve been wanting to try for a while.  I built a light box.  A light box is used to create even lighting for small items, usually when doing macro (close up) photography.  It’s actually really easy to make one, I just cut out the sides of a box and put tissue paper over it.  It took about 30 minutes from start to finish and it turned out really cool.  This picture is one of the first ones I tried.  You can kinda see the sides of the box in the picture, it’s lit from the right and top.  You can see the rest of the pictures that I took on my Facebook page.

Thanks for reading, have a great week!

2 thoughts on “finals week…eleven of fifty-two

  1. Hey Mr. Grimm! Great pictures here and on your other site! Several are really quite striking (like the stairwell picture). It looks like a lot of fun doing the once-a-week thing. Keep it up! The only thing that could make it better is a picture of me :o)

    Oh, one more thing… In your list of 21 reasons for loving Allyse, I think it was #5 that says she laughs at all your jokes, even the ones that aren’t funny. My question is this… Are any of your jokes funny??? (ha ha, I’m just kidding… It’s like a joke… Get it?). Seriously Steve-o, your photography is great!!!

  2. so that’s how they do it. great lighting. who knew you could make a shoe look melancholic. i like seeing your photo “tips”. . .

Leave a Reply

