the f word….twenty-two of fifty-two

This weekend, my family got together for a celebration of the F word….FORTY that is, get your mind out of the gutter…

My uncle Marc is turning forty soon, so my family decided to throw him a surprise party this weekend.  He thought we were going to my grandparents house to do yardwork and help them with some things around the house – which we did –  but he wasn’t expecting a party to accompany it.  Me and my dad and my uncle Mike took him downstairs to play ping pong for a while, and everybody decorated upstairs.  When we came up, everybody jumped out at him and he was awfully surprised.  I think it went very well, and we had a great time.  We went to Dave and Busters for dinner/gaming.  I had never been there before, and there is that new location over at Mayfair Mall so we decided to give it a shot.  It was a BLAST.  Basically a Chuck-E-Cheese for adults, this place is wild!  We were there till almost 10 at night, at which point we headed back to my grandparents house for some cake and ice cream and more socializing.  All in all, a great day!

Today, I went shopping with my girlfriend, Allyse and my Mom.  We got some groceries to take back to my apartment since I was almost out of food.  After that, we met Allyse’s parents for lunch over at the California Pizza Kitchen at Bayshore Mall.  It was really great to see them again, I don’t think I’ve seen them since around Christmastime, so it was good to catch up.

This picture is from Saturday night, I didn’t think much of it when I took it, but it’s really grown on me.  It just seems so “home-y” and its really personal seeing some of my closest relatives coming together to celebrate and spend time with each other.  Family is so important to me, and I’m so blessed to have them in my life.

So I said last week that I would have some news regarding the future location of my blog, but I’m afraid that I have been having some technical issues that have prevented me from switching over to my locally hosted blog.  Things are picking up now that we’re closer to finals and I’ve been too busy to spend the time fixing that stuff right now.  Hopefully in a few weeks I’ll have some more time to work on that.  I am, however, in the process of upgrading to Photoshop CS5 (the latest release) and hopefully, early in the summer, I will have my computer upgraded to Windows 7.  Between the two of these, I should have quite a bit of extra processing power and I’ll be able to try a few more graphics intensive projects….I’ll keep you posted with any progress…

Thanks for checking in this week, have an excellent week.

Only 2 more weeks till my birthday and only 3 more until finals are done 🙂

One thought on “the f word….twenty-two of fifty-two

  1. Yo Steve-o! Great picture! If nothing else, at least I can say my hand was in one of your weekly pictures…

    I meant to respond to your last weeks’ entry, but you touched on it again this week… I really like your comments about family!!! I’m glad to see how important it is to you. I agree completely!!!

    I also thought it was pretty cool that Allyse was willing to jump in and do yardwork at her boyfriends grandparents house. She’s a great girl and I really like her, so even though you disregarded my wise advice about blonde women at MSOE, I guess it turned out well anyway… :o)

Leave a Reply

