vacation…thirty-six of fifty-two

I’ve been really clumsy this week.  I’ve lost so many things I’m surprised I haven’t lost my mind yet.  But I’m getting ahead of myself…

This last weekend, our family went up north for our annual family camping trip at Camp Ottos.  I swung by Allyse’s house on the way up so that she could camp with us this year.  It’s too bad the weather didn’t cooperate with us,  we got quite a bit of rain on Friday night so we were all “camping” in the farmhouse rather than our in our tents.  That was pretty fun too though, it was like one big sleepover in a hot creaky house.  It was pretty fun.  In the morning, we got up and cooked our breakfast out at the campgrounds, and I got to drive an old antique tractor from the farmhouse all the way down to the campgrounds.  I was so good at it, I almost think I could be a farmer if the whole engineering thing falls through 🙂

After eating breakfast and cleaning up, we headed down to Shawano Lake.  It was a perfect day for hanging out at the beach, mid 80s and blue skies.  We built sandcastles and Allyse tried to teach me how to swim.  Lets just say I’m no Michael Phelps yet, but hopefully I’ll get a few more lessons so I can actually swim.  After that we laid out in the sun for a while before lunch.  Overall a pretty awesome camping weekend.

After we were done at the beach we made a quick stop off at the Dairy Cove, an awesome ice cream place on the way home, for a little ice cream treat.  I stopped in Neenah on the way home and spent the night with Allyse and her family.  On Sunday, we had a party for her cousin’s kid’s birthday party.  It was a beautiful day, and it was good to spend some time with Allyse and her family.  As soon as I got up there though, I realized that I had misplaced my Blackberry charger.  I searched all over for it, and even called home to see if maybe I left it at home.  Nothin. Couldn’t find it all weekend, and my Blackberry had died so I was without a phone.  Then Allyse just walks out to my car and is like, “I bet it’s in your camera bag”.  The one place I hadn’t looked.  And what do you know, there it was!  I still think she may have put it there 😛

Anyways, I got back down to my apartment, and can’t find the cord to transfer the pictures off my camera and onto my computer.  So I have all these pictures from this weekend, and no way of getting at them.  I have torn my apartment apart from top to bottom and can’t find it anywhere, and yes, I checked my camera bag….So I figured now would be a good time to finally get the CF card reader I should have gotten a long time ago.  I guess next week, or later this week, I’ll post a picture that I took, but until then, here’s a picture of Allyse and I driving the tractor up north while camping that my dad took.  It’s one of the only pictures I have from the weekend because I lost my camera cord.  So again, I’m sorry for the late post, with the picture that’s not mine, but I’m doing the best with what I got… 🙂

UPDATED:  Thanks Allyse for pointing out that I forgot about Saturday morning when she and I and my aunt Wendy went to Yoder’s Bakery (an Amish farm/bakery) to get some donuts.  It was pretty awesome to see that whole lifestyle up close, and Allyse LOVES the Amish, so she really enjoyed it as well 🙂  Not to mention, the donuts are some of the best donuts I’ve ever eaten.

2 thoughts on “vacation…thirty-six of fifty-two

  1. Nice waving! My pics from the weekend are still on my camera, too (but at least I know where my cord is). Mmmmm……. Amish donuts……. :o)

Leave a Reply

