adventures…thirty-seven of fifty-two

I can’t believe summer is almost over already.  It’s just two weeks until school starts up again and it feels like this summer just started.  Worse than that, it feels so strange that I’m going to be a senior this year.  Talk about time going fast.  It’s hard to imagine that at this time next year I’ll be out in the “real world” working a “real job” and starting the next part of my life….Needless to say, I’m looking forward to it.

I got to take a day trip up to Madison this week for a site tour, and that was really interesting.  It was part of the plastics study that we’re conducting for the American Chemistry Council.  I walked through several old low-income apartment complexes, basically surveying for any plastics that could be salvaged from the building during deconstruction.  It was very interesting, even though the buildings were so old that they had little or no plastic. I’ll be going on another site visit in South Milwaukee later this week that should be much of the same stuff.

This weekend was pretty fun.  I got to go to Six Flags on Saturday with Allyse’s family.  It was the first time I had been there since sophomore year physics in high school.  I really enjoyed the trip back then, and I had a really good time this time as well.  I, surprisingly enough, really enjoyed Demon, with the back to back loops and the corkscrew.  We were there for most of the day and I had a really good time!

Then, on Sunday, we headed over to my aunt and uncle’s house for an end of summer family get together.  It seems that now that the cousins are getting older, everybody has something going on almost every weekend so it’s hard to get everyone together very often.  We had a cookout and played baseball out in the backyard.  It was a beautiful day and we all had a really good time.  Allyse and my family made an awesome dessert that turned out to be a big hit, we’ll have to make it again some time.

Today I got to go golfing with some friends from high school.  Everybody had busy jobs and other stuff going on this summer so it was hard to get the group back together again.  Again, it was a great day for golf, and although I hadn’t been out for almost a month and a half, I still ended up posting the lowest score.  It was more fun just to see the guys again and to relax and have a fun time out on the course…

This week is back to the grind, and it’s the second to last week of summer.  The weather is supposed to be beautiful all week, so hopefully I’ll have some time to get some good pictures this week.  This weeks picture is a tree frog on my house.  They like to climb up on the house in the evenings when it gets cooler outside and this little guy was just chillin’ up by the front door, so I snapped his picture.

One thought on “adventures…thirty-seven of fifty-two

  1. You said the tree frog was on the house. Do you mean your home house or the apartment where you are living? I like the gold coloring and he looks like a happy little frog. G-ma & G-pa

Leave a Reply

