packer season…forty of fifty-two

One week of school down, 32 till graduation.   Classes weren’t too bad this week, but I’m sure you’ll hear something entirely different from me next week.  My advanced concrete doesn’t seem like it should be toooo bad, but Dr Z is teaching it, so I’m sure it’ll be fine. Real Estate is a whole ‘nother story.  I’ve never been that good with economics, so a class that exploits my lack of knowledge in that subject should be pretty interesting…

Senior design should be a lot of fun this year though.  Wait, did I say a lot of fun, I meant to say it’s going to be a lot of work.  Should be pretty rewarding though, it’s quite a difficult project.  We’re designing a new community center for the Lakeshore State Park (right next to Discovery World at Pier Wisconsin and the Milwaukee Art Museum).  Not only is it going to have to be pretty architecturally sound, but there are a lot of unique engineering problems the site faces as well.  The site itself is a man-made island, so foundations will be tricky.  Plus, there are no utilities to the site, so  it has to be 100% net-zero energy and completely “off the grid”.  Oh, and on top of all that, the project goal is to meet LEED Platinum standards, the highest possible rating for green buildings.  Yikes.  Something tells me it’s going to be a long nine months.

The Packers pulled off the win today, good way to start off the season (not to mention a Vikings loss to make it a perfect week).  I am so glad it’s football season, this has got to be my favorite time of year.

Speaking of which, some of the trees are starting to change colors, not sure if I’m quite ready for that or not.  That means the cold weather is coming, and those nice photo walks that I enjoy so much will get fewer and farther in between…This week’s picture is from the building on Cathedral Square.  I believe this building was featured earlier in my project, but its quite a spectacular building and it’s so photogenic so it’s showing up again.  This was another experiment with HDR processing, I think it turned out alright, but let me know what you think!

Thanks and have a fantastic week!

Leave a Reply

