leaves…forty-three of fifty-two

Another week down, another week closer to the end of the quarter.  But at the same time, it’s also a week closer to midterms.  Things have been picking up lately, but honestly, I enjoy being busy like this.  For example, I’d rather work on architectural and design type stuff; it’s more enjoyable than having pages upon pages of engineering homework to do.  There’s just a lot of stuff going on, so things have been pretty busy around here.

We had a company presentation for our professional presentation class on Friday, and I think it went pretty well.  It was a pretty big deal, even though it isn’t a big part of our grade.  My group had prepared our PowerPoint and company brochure for the 20 minute presentation and it ended up going off without a hitch.  I got caught up on my words once, but other than that, the professors who evaluated us said that we had some of the best slides and brochure that they had ever seen.  Felt pretty good after finishing that, but then the reality set in, knowing that we still had a lot of stuff due this next week.  Oh well, we enjoyed the feeling while it lasted.

This week’s big assignment is building the model of a birdhouse based on the architectural style of a certain architect.  Sounds simple enough, right?  Well I ended up getting Louis Sullivan, and with a 10″ x 10″ x 10″ limitation on size, it’s hard to build a birdhouse in the style of the architect who pioneered steel framed construction in Chicago skyscrapers…  I’m about 95% done tonight, just have a few little finishing touches to add, but I think it turned out pretty good.  I used some high arches around the doorways so it really emphasizes the vertical and kinda stretches out the building a little (even though its only 7 inches high).  Maybe next week I’ll post pictures of it.

I should probably get back to working on that, so I’ll wrap things up.  This week’s picture is from the bus stop near my house.  Allyse and I were waiting for the bus to Waukesha so we could go to my parents house for the Packer game this afternoon and I was just playing around with my camera a little bit.  This was one of my favorite shots, the depth of field is so shallow and contrast is great.  Let me know what you think!

One thought on “leaves…forty-three of fifty-two

Leave a Reply

