engaged…fifty of fifty-two

She said yes.  I asked her to marry me and she said yes.  Can you believe it?  Its still kinda hard to wrap my head around the fact that I’m engaged to such a wonderful girl.

It was last Thursday, the 18th around 5:00 and we had just headed out to eat dinner.  We usually have “date night” on Thursday nights, so I figured I could take her out to dinner without her knowing that anything was afoot.  We went to Elsa’s on the Park, a fancy restaurant on Cathedral Square, a place that we’ve wanted to go to for quite a while.  I tried to take her there for her 21st birthday last January, but you have to be 21 after 5:00 to get in, and I wasn’t at the time.  So anyways we finally got in and Allyse got carded IMMEDIATELY upon entering…our waiter (Steve) apologized and told her that she’s going to be “very beautiful when she’s 80”.  Ha. I think she’s beautiful now, but maybe that’s just me 🙂

Anyways,  we ate (It was delicious.  I had a Burger Alfredo and she had a Grilled Cheese.  You read that right, Grilled Cheese) and decided to take a quick walk through Cathedral Square to check out all the holiday lights.  They had just lit all of the lights for the city, and so it was beautiful to walk around and see all the Christmas trees and lights in the park.  It was a really cold night though, so our walk was cut short because of the frigid cold.   We started walking back to my apartment and honestly all I could think of was the little box that was in my pocket and making sure that Allyse doesn’t see.  It was one of the more nerve wracking things I’ve ever had to do.   We finally got back to my apartment, and after putting our leftovers in the fridge, I did it.  And the rest is history.  Not 30 seconds later, we heard a noise and realized that there was fireworks going off outside.  They were from the tree lighting ceremony, but we could see them from my balcony.  I told her that I had planned for us to get back in time to see the fireworks (it was actually a pretty good coincidence, but it makes the story a lot better if I don’t mention that part 🙂 )

Anyways, so it’s been a pretty crazy weekend (also why my post is a day late).  We’ve been meeting with family members and celebrating and basically having a good time for the last few days.  I think it’s going to take a few more days to realize that this is all actually happening and that we’re actually engaged.  I was at Allyse’s house this past weekend visiting with her family.  It’s a really exciting time, and I’m really looking forward to seeing my family on Thanksgiving and spending time with my family.

Anyways, thanks everybody for the congratulatory wishes, it really means a lot to us.  Here’s one of our first pictures since becoming engaged.

3 thoughts on “engaged…fifty of fifty-two

Leave a Reply

